top of page

Sebastian C. Peter


New Chemistry Unit

School of Advanced Material (SAMat)

Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research

Jakkur, Bengaluru 560064

Phone: (080) 2208 2998, 09480827672

  • Google Scholar
  • ResearchGate
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

Academic Profile



B.Sc. (Chemistry)

M.Sc. (Chemistry)

M.Tech (Industrial Catalysis)


Post Doc. 1

Post Doc. 2

Mary Matha High School, Panthalampadam, Kerala, India

St. Thomas College / Calicut University, Kerala, India (1995)

St. Thomas College / Calicut University, Kerala, India (1998)

St. Thomas College / Calicut University, Kerala, India (2000)

Cochin University of Science and Technology, Kochi, India (2002)

Institut für Anorganische und Analytische Chemie and NRW Graduate School of Chemistry, Universität Münster, Germany (2006)
Supervisor: Prof. Rainer Pottgen
Second mentor: Prof. Hellmut Eckert

Max Plank Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids, Dresden, Germany (2007-2008)
Supervisor: Prof. Yuri Grin

Northwestern University, Chemistry Department, USA (2008-2010)
Supervisor: Prof. Mercouri G. Kanatzidis

Awards & Recognition

  • Recipient of Rajib Goyal Prize under Chemical Science Category.

  • Recipient of International Association for Advanced Materials (IAAM) Scientist Medal.

  • Winner of National Start Up Award 2023 under the category " Sustainability Champion"

  • Fellow of Indian Academy of Sciences

  • Member of Editorial Advisory board of JACS

  • Recipient of MRSI Materials Science Annual Prize 2023

  • Chirantan Rasayan Sanstha Award 2023

  • Elected as Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry, FRSC (2023)

  • SMC Bronze medal (2022)

  • Listed in “75 under 50 scientists shaping today's India” released by DST, India (2021)

  • J C Bose Diamond Jubilee Lecture Award by IAAM (2022)

  • IAAM Fellow (2022)

  • National Prize for Research in Environmental Chemistry, including CO2 Reduction and Green Hydrogen (2022)

  • Sheikh Saqr Career Award Fellowship (2022)

  • Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE) young Innovator and Entrepreneur Award (2021)

  • Winner of KPMG ENRich21

  • National Technology  Award, Technology Development Board, Department of Science and technology on CO2 to Methanol pilot scale development (2021).

  • Chemical Research Society of India (CRSI) Medal (2020)

  • DST Swarnajayanti Fellowship (2018)

  • Finalist of NRG COSIA carbon XPRIZE global competition prize worth 20M USD for the utilization of CO2 generating from power generation sectors (2016-2021)

  • Elevate 100, Karnataka State Government for CO2 to methanol technology (2017)

  • Materials Research Society of India (MRSI) medal (2016) 

  • Emerging Investigator by Royal Chemistry Society (RSC) (2016).

  • Emerging Investigator in Material Science by Institute of Physics (IOP) (2016)

  • Indian National Young Academic of Sciences (INYAS) Membership (2016-2020)

  • Emerging Young Investigator in the field of solid-state chemistry by the American Chemical Society (2014).

  • Ramanujan Fellowship, DST, India (2010-2014).

  • International Graduate School of Chemistry fellowship, University of Münster, Germany (2003-2006).


Graduate Courses (Ph.D., Int. Ph.D., and Masters' Student)

  1. Crystallography of solid state materials (JNC-310, 2011-current, 3 credits)

  2. Physical methods for chemists (JNC-305, 2011-Current, 3 Credits)

  3. Chemical laboratory for Int-PhD students (JNC-203, 204 and 205, 1 Credit)

Under Graduate Courses (POCE Student)

  1. Basic solid state chemistry (2011-Current)

bottom of page